MAHLE Sponsored Racers Finish Strong for 2018 - Four Champions at the Podium and Fastest MPH Recorded for NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Competition

Farmington Hills, MI (December 6, 2018)…MAHLE, manufacturer of MAHLE Performance products and the Clevite® engine bearings, is a top sponsor of racers that compete in multiple series - NASCAR®, NHRA, Baja and Trans Am TA1. In 2018, MAHLE sponsored racers came out on top with four racers titled champions and many finishing strong in overall points. MAHLE is pleased to congratulate this year’s champions and the top finishers from the 2018 season.

Congratulations are in order for Joey Logano who won the 2018 NASCAR championship with a MAHLE sponsored Roush Yates built engine. Other top MAHLE sponsored NASCAR racers that finished in the top ten include Kevin Harvick who finished third in points, Aric Almirola who finished fifth in points, Kurt Busch and Brad Keselowski who finished seventh and eighth respectively and Ryan Blaney who finished the season tenth.

In NHRA series racing, MAHLE sponsored racer J.R. Todd with Kalitta Racing won the NHRA Funny Car World Championship. John Force Racing, also finished strong for the year. Both John and Courtney Force competing in Funny Car finished in the top ten in points with team member Robert Hight wrapping up the season consistently placing second in points. Brittany Force (Top Fuel) also finished in the top ten in points.

Matt Smith not only cinched the NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Championship at the finals in Pomona, but also recorded the fastest MPH ever recorded at 201.22 MPH. MAHLE sponsored Pro Stock Motorcycle father and son team Hector Arana and Hector Arana, Jr. finished strong breaking the 200 mph barrier. Hector Arana, Jr. finished third in points with his father finishing eleventh.

In a final five second run against Ricky Smith at the E3 Pro Mod Drag Racing Series eliminations in Las Vegas, MAHLE sponsored racer Mike Janis won his first Pro Mod Championship. This completed four championships for the 2018 season – Mike Janis, Matt Smith, J.R. Todd and Joey Logano.

MAHLE sponsored driver, Clay Millican that competes in NHRA Top Fuel Dragster racing finished third in points followed by Terry McMillen finishing ninth and Blake Alexander 12th in points in NHRA Top Fuel Dragster. MAHLE sponsored Top Fuel Funny Car racer, Tim Wilkerson wrapped up the season fifth in points.

In NHRA Top Alcohol Dragster standings, Rachel Meyer finished third in points and sister Megan in her part-time racing career finished 23rd. Phil Burkart and John Lombardo finished respectively in sixth and seventh in Top Alcohol Funny Car rankings.

Road track racers in the Trans Am TA1 series, Lawrence Loshak and Tommy Drissi, finished second and ninth. Chelsea DeNofa placed eighth in points and team owner Vaughn Gittin Jr placed 13th in Pro Drift standings. Casey Currie won the Baja 1000, Baja 500 and the 2018 Dakar Series in his respective classes.

Jon Douglas, president of MAHLE Aftermarket North America, says, “MAHLE and Clevite are two performance brands that are trusted by top racers around the globe across an ever increasing number of series and events. On behalf of everyone at MAHLE Aftermarket, we congratulate all of our racing partners for their success this year and look forward to working closely with them to ensure continued success.”

Download PDF [PDF; 303 KB]